Start of second phase of the DFNS elections

The second phase of the local elections of DFNS has been launched; the elections of the districts, towns, and cantons assemblies.

The second phase started at 08:00 a.m on Friday, 1st of December, in the three Regions of North Syria: “Afrin, Euphrates , and Jazira” which include 6 cantons: “Hasake, Qamishlo, Kobani, Gire Sipi (Tel-Abyed), Afrin, and Shahba”

The electoral process will continue until 20:00, according to the high commissioners.

Media Office
Dec 1, 2017


Erdogan has declared war on Syrian Kurdish population.

NATO’s member, Turkey, is invading Afrin, a democratically self-governed region in North Syria.

The canton of Afrin has been the most secure and safe region in Syria for its inhabitants despite the embargo. It is democratically governed by locally-elected councils and it hosts more than 300,000 IDPs from the other Syrian cities.

We implore the international community to act in the name of peace and justice, and work to halt this Turkish offensive with such efforts as instituting a no-fly zone over Afrin, sending a team of UN observers, or providing peace-keeping troops to secure the Turkish-Syrian border.